Metros win state hockey title 8-1

AMES - It was a matter of time.

First, for Dubuque to cave in to the pressure. mates turned on the heat. Then, for the Sioux City Metros to win their first Iowa High School Hockey League state tournament championship.

Spotting the Devils a 1-0 lead after a period, co-coaches Dave Davies and Dave Legree watched their Metros shell Dubuque for three second-period goals and five more in the third, while Jeff Brogan turned in an immaculate job of goaltending in an 8-1 triumph in the title game Sunday at the compact Ames Ice Arena.

Brogan's net-minding was so meticulous he was named the tournament's most valuable player.

It was the second time a Sioux City goaltender was named most valuable player in the IHSHL tournament. In 1987, when the Metros finished third in the tourney in Sioux City, Scott Patrick tabbed MVP.

The Metros had been bridesmaids in three of the 14 previous state tournaments, including a controversial runner-up finish to Waterloo Public in Waterloo last year.

"We went into the tournament with a specific game plan and after we got back to that game plan after the first period we were just fine," said Davies.

"After the first period, I just told the guys to get the next goal and go from there. With our our talent and ability, I wasn't worried."

The Metros, who had split regular-season meetings with Dubuque, winning 7-1 and losing 4-1, concluded a banner 27-5-1 season. Dubuque finished 24-4-1.

period, Brogan settled down and his skating

Jesse Monell tied the game at 5:18 of the second period, then Daniel Davies got the go-ahead goal at 8:14.

The goal that broke Dubuque's will came at 11:58 when Monell whistled an unassisted shot past goaltender David March for a 3-1 advantage.

The Metros were skating two men short at the time.

From then on, Davies' three lines and penalty-killers foiled the dispirited Devils.

The three trios of Chris Sorum-T.J. Reinsch-Matt Lester, Monell-Davies-Tracy Brunken and Landon Blatchford-Rvan Miller-Cory Roberts wound up launching just 22 shots, but eight found the mark.

Davies also credited his defense tandems of Jade Pospeshil and Jason Osbahr and Brian Augustine and Guy Wayman for defusing a plethora of Dubuque power play opportunities.

The Metros were whistled for 15 penalties and Dubuque just six.

"In the past, this tournament never seemed to go our way so I emphasized to our players that they'd have to win it on their own merit and solution for solution and ability," said Davies.

In the five-goal onslaught in the third period, Davies scored twice to pick up a hat trick, Reinsch punched in a pair of goals and Sorum added another red-lighter.

Davies also credited Legree's system of rotating goaltenders Brogan and Jesse Basarich as a key ingredient in the championship recipe.

"Dave looks at the game from a completely After Ben Roth scored at 2:39 of the opening different perspective than I do since he's a

goaltender himself," said Davies. "He designated his goalie a week in advance and they always knew who was going to play against who.

"Jeff and Jesse weren't competitors for the job, but teammates."

Basarich worked Sioux City's opening win over Mason City, the Brogan came back in a big 8-3 win over arch-rival West Des Moines Valley-Dowling in the Saturday semifinals.

Augustine, Reinsch, Sorum and Davies were named to the all-state team and will play on the Iowa team that will compete in the Chicago Showcase high school tournament April 17-21.

A maximum of four players from each team in the IHSHL is eligible for selection to the select squad that will represent Iowa.

League coaches cannot vote for their own players in the selection process.

"The sad thing is that seven or eight of our players are good enough to play and deserve to play on the all-star team," said Davies.

Summarv

First period: 1, Dubuque — Ben Roth (Richie Lehnhart, Jason Scherr) 2:39. Penalties: Reinsch, SC, 3:09; Oshahr, SC, 6:45; Lester, SC, 7:53; Osbahr, SC, 9:42; Hill, D, 9:42; Lester, Sc, 14:14.

Third period: 5, Sioux City - Davies (Monell) 2:19, 6, Sioux City - T.J. Reinsch (Sorum) 6:21, 7, Sioux City - Sorum (unassisted) 6:46, 8, Sioux City – Davies (Brunken) 8:04.9, Sloux City – Sorum (unassisted) 6:46.6, Sloux City – Davies (Brunken) 8:04.9, Sloux City – Reinsch (Landon Blatchford) 9:03. Penatiles: Brunken, SC, 1:56; Baxter, D, 6:57; Roth, Du, 6:57; Monell, SC, 6:57; Kester, D, 9:54; Augustine, SC, 10:15; Baxter, D, 10:15; Biatchford, SC (minor, major) 13:42; Harwood, D, 13:42; Roberts, SC, 13:42.

Score by periode

Sloux City		0	3	5	-	8
Shots on goal:	**********	1	0	0	-	1
Sioux City		6	2	6	-	14
Dubuque		6	7	5	-	18
Goaltenders: Jeff Brogan, Siou	ax City; David March, I	Jubu	jque;	Mik	e K	irk,
Dubuque.						
Referees: Steve Kammeyer, la	n Campbell.					